Skip to Content

2012 WISE Conference

wise icon

2012 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
April 12-13, 2012
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its third Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Conference from April 12-13, 2012.

2012 Conference Theme: "Scientists Making A Difference"

This two-day event provided a forum for science outreach and education, networking, and showcasing faculty and student research interests. Thank you to all of our alumni, students, and faculty who joined us in celebration of women in science and engineering at Texas State University!

2012 WISE Conference Program

2012 Conference Chair
Dr. Dana Garcia
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Biology

2012 Keynote Address

Dr. Peggy Glass
Executive Vice-President
Alan Plummer Associates, Inc.
B.S., Chemistry, Texas State University
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Texas at Austin

2012 Student Poster Session Winners

Congratulations to our poster session and scholarship award recipients for their fine academic and research performance!

First place:
Priscilla Pham - "Preliminary characterization of secreted bioactive compounds from Bifidobacterium longum with modulatory activity towards enterocytic Fasting Induced Adipocyte Factor (FIAF)"

Second place:
Nirmala Karunanathra - "Role of IAA28 in adventitious root formation in Arabidopsis"

Third place:
Krystle Moore - "Overexpression of pic59 leads to picloram sensitivity in Arabidopsis"

Fourth place:
Laura McCalla - "Water Quality of the Balcones Fault Zone Edwards Aquifer, Hays County: Potential effects of a large-scale housing development and associated golf course in San Marcos, Texas"

2012 Scholarship Award Recipients

Krystle Moore: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Andrea Julian: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Val Yerby: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Lacey Latour: Samsung Austin Semiconductor Scholarship
Sarah Hanusch: SwRI Women in Science and Engineering Scholarship

Expand or Collapse all.

2012 Conference Sponsors

College of Science and Engineering
Department of Biology
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Department of Computer Science
Department of Engineering Technology
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics
Ingram School of Engineering
Office of the Vice President for Research and Federal Relations
Samsung, Inc.
Southwest Research Institute
Women's Giving Circle
Women in Science Initiative

2012 WISE Conference Planning Committee

Dana García, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology - Conference Chair

Nathaniel Dean, PhD, Professor, Department of Mathematics

Debra Feakes, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Heather Galloway, PhD, Director, University Honors Program and Professor, Department of Physics

Miguel Gurrero, Career Advisor, Office of Career Services, Texas State University

Terry Hazell, Entrepreneur in Residence, Office of Commercialization and Industrial Relations, Texas State University

Anne Hee Hiong Ngu, PhD, Professor, Department of Computer Science

Vickie Meehan-Clarke, Senior Major Gift Officer, University Advancement, Texas State University

Clara Novoa, PhD, Assistant Professor, Ingram School of Engineering

Kim Porterfield, Director, Community Relations, Texas State University

Susan Romanella, MA, Director, H-LSAMP Scholars Program, College of Science and Engineering

Stephen Seidman, PhD, Dean - College of Science and Engineering

Vedaraman Sriraman, PhD, Professor, Department of Engineering Technology