Skip to Content

2013 WISE Conference

wise icon

2013 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
November 21-22, 2013
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its fourth Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Conference from November 21-22, 2013.

2013 Conference Theme: "Sustainability - Preparing for the Long Haul"

This two-day event provided a forum for science outreach and education, networking, and showcasing faculty and student research interests. Thank you to all of our alumni, students, and faculty who joined us in celebration of women in science and engineering at Texas State University!

2013 WISE Conference Program

2013 Conference Chair
Dr. Dana Garcia
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Biology

2013 Keynote Address

Dr. Misty Rowe
Halliburton, Inc.

Ms. Karen Siles
Software Engineer
IBM, Inc.

2013 Faculty Research Presenters

2013 Student Poster Session Winners

Congratulations to our poster session and scholarship award recipients for their fine academic and research performance!

First place:
Amanda Win - "Seasonal Diets of Sable Antelope at Mason Mountain Wildlife Management Area Using DNA Analysis" 

Second place: 
Yan Lin - "Cervical Cancer Disparities: Where are Underserved Minorities?"

Honorable Mention:
Elizabeth LeBlanc, Andrew Santana, Maria Tomasso 

2013 Scholarship Award Recipients

Sarah Hanusch: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Jessica Conn: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Yulija Melnikova: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Angelica Riojas: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Chandler Franklin: Samsung Austin Semiconductor Scholarship

Expand or Collapse all.

2013 Conference Sponsors

Halliburton Foundation
ExxonMobil Foundation
National Alliance for Partnerships in Equity
Center for Multicultural and Gender Studies
College of Science and Engineering
Samsung, Inc.
Southwest Research Institute
Women's Giving Circle
Women in Science Initiative

2013 WISE Conference Planning Committee

Dana García, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology - Conference Chair

Nathaniel Dean, PhD, Professor, Department of Mathematics

Debra Feakes, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Heather Galloway, PhD, Director, University Honors Program and Professor, Department of Physics

Miguel Gurrero, Career Advisor, Office of Career Services, Texas State University

Terry Hazell, Director, Texas State RAMPCorps

Lauren Minter, M.S. Candidate, Department of Biology

Clara Novoa, PhD, Assistant Professor, Ingram School of Engineering

Stephen Seidman, PhD, Dean - College of Science and Engineering

Vedaraman Sriraman, PhD, Professor, Department of Engineering Technology