Skip to Content

2017 WISE Conference

wise icon

2017 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
April 28, 2017
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its fifth Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Conference on Friday, April 28, 2017.

2017 Conference Theme: "A Shared Experience"

This one day event provided a forum for science outreach and education, networking, and showcasing faculty and student research interests. Thank you to all of our alumni, students, and faculty who joined us in celebration of women in science and engineering at Texas State University!

2017 WISE Conference Program

2017 Conference Chair
Dr. Susan Holtz
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Physics

2017 Keynote Address

Ms. Ginger Kerrick, NASA Divison Chief
"Leadership in Human Spaceflight - Lessons in Success"

2017 WISE Conference presenters

2017 Student Poster Session Winners

Congratulations to our poster session, people's choice, and scholarship award recipients for their fine academic and research performance!

First place: Sara Salisbury - "Harnessing the Power of iPads OUTSIDE"

Second place: Sarah Durham - "Viability and Persistence of North America’s Rarest Heron: A Population Viability Analysis of Reddish Egrets (Egretta rufescens) in Texas"

Third place: "Jacob Frazer Impact of Processing Parameters on Conductive Polymer Electroactivity"

People's Choice Poster Winners: Kyle August, Steven Gralinski, Gabrielle Harmon 

People's Choice EXPO Winners: Texas State Astronomy Club; Texas Lutheran University Society of Physics Students

2017 Scholarship Award Recipients

Esther Conrad: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Fritzina Morrison: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Sara Weaver: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Ananda Diener: Samsung Austin Semiconductor Scholarship

Expand or Collapse all.

2017 Conference Sponsors

Texas State University Sponsors:

  • Center for Diversity and Gender Studies
  • College of Science and Engineering
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Engineering Technology
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Ingram School of Engineering
  • Office of Equity and Access
  • Women's Giving Circle

Samsung Austin

2017 WISE Conference Planning Committee

Committee Department/Affiliation Institution
Susan Holtz, Chair Physics Texas State University
Alejandra Sorto Mathematics Texas State University
Aparajita Sengupta Physics Texas State University
BJ Spencer Engineering Technology Texas State University
Caitlin Gabor Biology Texas State University
Clara Novoa Ingram School of Engineering Texas State University
Dana Garcia Biology Texas State University
Glynda Betros Mathematics Texas State University
Heather Galloway Physics Texas State University
Jennifer Irvin Chemistry Texas State University
Jennifer Jensen Geography Texas State University
Joyce Anderson Physics Texas State University
Lucy Lu Computer Science Texas State University
Mary Beth Harper Biology Texas State University
Maureen Lemke Biology Texas State University
Susan Romanella College of Science & Engineering Texas State University
Toni Sauncy Physics Texas Lutheran University
Wendi David Chemistry Texas State University
Yihong Chen Ingram School of Engineering Texas State University