Skip to Content

2011 WISE Conference

wise icon

2011 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
April 8, 2011
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its second Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Conference on Friday, April 8, 2011.

2011 Conference Theme: "Moving women in science and engineering into the fast lane - that's WISE!"

This one-day event provided a forum for science outreach and education, networking, and showcasing faculty and student research interests. Thank you to all of our alumni, students, and faculty who joined us in celebration of women in science and engineering at Texas State University!

2011 Conference Chair
Dr. Dana Garcia
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Biology

2011 Keynote Address

Dr. Marsha Wills-Karp
Director, Division of Immunobiology
Cincinnati Hospital Children's Medical Center

2011 Student Poster Session Winners

Congratulations to our poster session and scholarship award recipients for their fine academic and research performance!

First place:
Nirmala Karunarathna - "IAA28 May have Multiple Functions in Plant Growth and Development"; Nirmala Karunarathna, Sunethra Dharmasiri, Thilanka Jayaweera, Praveen Kathare, Joseph R. Koke and Nihal Dharmasiri, Department of Biology, Texas State University-San Marcos

Second place:
Priscilla Pham, Reese Cotton, Shaniece Parker - "Secreted Bioactive Factors from Bifidobacterium longum Increase the Levels of Intestinal Fasting Induced Adipocyte Factor (FIAF) in Vitro"; Priscilla Pham, Reese Cotton, Shaniece Parker, Dhiraj A Vattem, B. J. Friedman and Vatsala Maitin, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, Texas State University-San Marcos

Third place (tie):
Jessica Tracy, Leasha Schaub - "Functional Relevance of Unfolded Protein: Investigating Allostery in the Tumor Suppressor Protein p53";  Jessica Tracy, Leasha Schaub, and Steven Whitten, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Texas State University-San Marcos

Swapneela Unkule - "Register Pressure Guided Code Transformations for the GPU"; Swapneela Unkule and Apan Qasem, Department of Computer Science, Texas State University-San Marcos

2011 Scholarship Award Recipients

Krystle Moore: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Sara Weaver: Women's Giving Circle-WISE Scholarship
Selene Basurto-Vazquez: Samsung Austin Semiconductor Scholarship
Swapneela Unkule: SwRI Women in Science and Engineering Scholarship

Expand All Content
  • College of Science and Engineering
    Department of Biology
    Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
    Department of Computer Science
    Department of Engineering Technology
    Department of Mathematics
    Department of Physics
    Ingram School of Engineering
    Office of the Vice President for Research and Federal Relations
    Samsung, Inc.
    Southwest Research Institute
    Women's Giving Circle
    Women in Science Initiative

  • Dana GarcĂ­a, PhD, Professor, Department of Biology - Conference Chair

    Nathaniel Dean, PhD, Professor, Department of Mathematics

    Debra Feakes, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

    Heather Galloway, PhD, Director, University Honors Program and Professor, Department of Physics

    Terry Hazell, Entrepreneur in Residence, Office of Commercialization and Industrial Relations, Texas State University

    Anne Hee Hiong Ngu, PhD, Professor, Department of Computer Science

    Clara Novoa, PhD, Assistant Professor, Ingram School of Engineering

    Susan Romanella, MA, Director, H-LSAMP Scholars Program, College of Science and Engineering

    Stephen Seidman, PhD, Dean - College of Science and Engineering

    Vedaraman Sriraman, PhD, Professor, Department of Engineering Technology