Skip to Content

2018 WISE Conference

wise icon

2018 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
March 2, 2018
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its sixth Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Conference on Friday, March 2, 2018.

2018 Conference Theme: "Think WiSE"

This one day event was an exciting forum for STEM outreach and education - with a spotlight on the many accomplishments of women in STEM. Participants had opportunities to network with our guest speakers, meet other students doing STEM research at Texas State, and have fun with many hands-on STEM activities in our EXPO. Thank you to all of our Texas State students, high school students and teachers, industry professionals, faculty, alumni, and special guests who joined us in celebration of women in science and engineering at Texas State University!

2018 Conference Chair
Dr. Susan Holtz
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Physics

2018 Guest Speakers

WiSE speaker pictures

Opening Speaker
Katie Gonzalez, Propulsion Analyst, Boeing

Keynote Address
Ginny Catania - Research Scientist at the Institute for Geophysics and Associate Professor, Jackson School of Geosciences, University of Texas at Austin

Boeing in the Spotlight, team of panelists
Michelle Barber, Electrical Design and Integration Technical Lead
Helen Biller, Engineering Manager, Propulsion Technology Team
Sheila Sharp, Director of Mission Assurance, Defense, Space & Security Division Diana Talley, Project Engineer, Boeing 737 Airplane Integration Office
Casey Thompson, Integrated Planning and Scheduling Manager, Boeing GMD

WiSE Communication & Negotiation Skills Seminar
Kelly Nash, Associate Professor of Physics, University of Texas at San Antonio

WiSE Workshop for high school students “Be Fearless – Shaping Your Future Self”
Susan Romanella, Director, NSF H-LSAMP Scholars Program, College of Science and Engineering
Texas State Undergraduate Students: Ananda Diener (chemistry); Laura Godinez (computer science); Ivianne Tompkins (industrial engineering)

2018 Student Poster Session, People's Choice, Selfie Celebration, and EXPO Winners

Congratulations to all of our student winners for their fine academic and research performance!

Poster Session - First place: Sara Weaver - "Testing Acoustic Deterrents for Reducing Bat Fatalities at Wind Turbines in South Texas"

Poster Session - Second place: Madeline Huff - "Evaluation of Cell Death Pathways Caused by Conductive Polymer Nanoparticle-Mediated Hyperthermia in Breast Cancer Cells"

Poster Session - Third place: Riley Horner - "Engineering Approach used in Hydroponics Designs and Automation"

People's Choice Poster Winner: Riley Horner - "Engineering Approach used in Hydroponics Designs and Automation"

Selfie Celebration Winner: Rebekah Rylander

People's Choice EXPO Winners: Texas State Astronomy Club; San Marcos High School Robotics Team, Texas State American Chemical Society

2018 WiSE Scholarship Award Recipients

Heather Hansen: Women's Giving Circle-WiSE Scholarship
Rebekah Rylander: Women's Giving Circle-WiSE Scholarship
Elizabeth Sanchez: Women's Giving Circle-WiSE Scholarship

Expand All Content
  • Texas State University Sponsors:

    • College of Science and Engineering, Office of the Dean
    • Center for Diversity and Gender Studies
    • Department of Biology
    • Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
    • Department of Computer Science
    • Department of Engineering Technology
    • Department of Geography
    • Department of Mathematics
    • Department of Physics
    • Ingram School of Engineering
    • Materials Science, Engineering, and Commercialization Program
    • Texas State University Step Up for State Donors
    • Women's Giving Circle


  • Susan Holtz, Chair, 2018 WiSE Conference

    Joyce Anderson, Texas State University
    Glynda Betros, Texas State University
    Yihong Chen, Texas State University
    Wendi David, Texas State University
    Dana Garcia, Texas State University
    Jennifer Irvin, Texas State University
    Jennifer Jensen, Texas State University
    Maureen Lemke, Texas State University
    Susan Romanella, Texas State University
    Toni Sauncy, Texas Lutheran University
    BJ Spencer, Texas State University
    Margaret Taylor, Texas State University
    Sunni Taylor, Texas State University
    Barbara Vansant, Texas State University