Skip to Content

2020 WISE Conference

WiSE icon word

2020 Women in Science and Engineering Conference
March 6, 2020
Texas State University, San Marcos TX

The College of Science and Engineering hosted its eighth Women in Science and Engineering (WiSE) Conference on Friday, March 6, 2020.

Thank you to all who participated in the WiSE 2020 (Women in Science & Engineering) Conference on Friday, March 6 at the LBJ Student Center on our beautiful Texas State campus! Our annual WiSE Conference welcomes all who support women in STEM - undergraduate and graduate students of all gender identities, as well as faculty, staff, alumni, and community members. 

WiSE 2020 brought together an exciting array of speakers and attendees to discuss timely issues that are important to women at all stages who are pursuing careers in STEM. Our sessions offered all attendees many opportunities for meaningful discussions, experience sharing, professional development, and STEM fun.

2020 Conference Chair
Dr. Susan Holtz
Texas State University
College of Science and Engineering, Dept. of Physics

2020 Guest Speakers

Opening Speaker
Beth Turman, Dell Technologies, Austin, TX

Plenary Speaker
Shelly Gretlein, National Instruments, Austin, TX

Keynote Speaker
Dr. Tom Bradicich, Vice President and Hewlett Packard Fellow, Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Networking Circles Sessions Leaders
Dr. Tania Betancourt, TXST Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Dr. Tom Bradicich, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Jennifer Jaques, Lighting Application Sciences
Dr. Floyd Quinn, McCoy College of Business
Beth Turman, Dell Technologies
Dr. Shannon Weigum, TXST Department of Biology

2020 Student Poster Session, People's Choice, and EXPO Winners

Congratulations to all of our student winners for their fine academic and research performance!

Congratulations to our 2020 WiSE Research Poster winners:

First Place: Jesse Durham (Advisor: Dr. Xiaoyu Xue) Biological Role of Mte1 in Homologous Recombination.

Second Place: Shahad Abdulsahib (Advisor: Dr. Tania Betancourt) Molecular Determinants of Immunogenic Cell Death Elicited by Nanoparticle-Mediated Dual Chemo and Photothermal Therapy.

Third Place: Mary Jurek (Advisor: Dr. Stacy Hunter) The Effects of Slow Deep Breathing on Measures of Microvascular and Autonomic Function in an Irritable Bowel Syndrome Population

Third Place: Veronica Marin Ponce (Advisor: Dr. Jennifer A. Irvin) Electrospun Electroactive Coated Nanocomposites for Photocatalysis 

Congratulations to our 2020 WiSE "People's Choice" winners:

EXPO: Astronomy Club, Texas State University
EXPO: Society of Women Engineers, Texas State University
EXPO: Wildlife Society, Texas State University
POSTER: Atamgbo Ayuwu (Advisor, Dr. Clara Novoa) A multi-stage stochastic model for production planning with renewable energy generation

Congratulations to our 2020 WiSE Scholarship winners:
Shahad Abdulsahib, Biochemistry
Josephine Reynes, Mathematics
Melissa Villatoro Castaneda, Population and Conservation Biology